Gardner Dozois (1947-2018)

Gardner Dozois (1947-2018) – Locus Online. It felt like the blood drained from my head when I read this.

I don’t want to get into it too much, but, leaving aside Gernsback’s creation, I would rank Dozois a close second only to Campbell in terms of his impact on the field through his writing, his editing of Asimov’s (though Shawna McCarthy’s tremendous editorial reign should never be overlooked), his editing of forty years of year’s bests (between Best Science Fiction Stories of the Year and The Year’s Best Science Fiction), and numerous other anthologies. He’s been a constant literary companion to me, as well as someone I greatly enjoyed interacting with on the old Asimov’s posting board. As fellow alumnus Alex the Great and Terrible said, ” I never actually met the man; but I still feel like I’ve lost a personal friend.”

My condolences to his friends, family, and our field.

Leave a comment